Grey’s Anatomy Podcast

Grey’s Anatomy is one of my favorite shows. I am a die hard Grey’s Anatomy fan. I have seen every episode, multiple times and I love re-watching the old seasons over and over again. Some might say I have a Grey’s Anatomy obsession.

Grey’s Anatomy has been on the air now for eight seasons and we are half way through the ninth season as we speak. This show is an amazing medical drama. Season one, episode one, the main characters are introduced as interns on their very first day of work.

They are fresh out of medical school and must prove themselves in the work place as interns. Over the past nine season, we have watched these characters go from being interns to now having their own set of interns. The viewers watch these characters grow as doctors as well as individuals. We watch them overcome barriers, encounter deaths and traumas, handle work decisions and mistakes, and we see them fall in love as well as experience heartbreak. We watch them get married and have children, and we see them have good and bad days accompanied with both happy and sad emotions.

Grey-s-Anatomy-greys-anatomy-1663492-1024-768These characters become your friends and your family. You feel like you are a part of the Grey’s Anatomy family. Creator, Shonda Rhimes, does a wonderful job of creating real-life situations so much so that the viewers often times can identify with and relate to the emotions and experiences that the characters are currently going through. This show is also pretty realistic in terms of the medicine. Grey’s Anatomy portrays real life medical situations and the terminology and treatment is very accurate. Often times, the show will only display a clip of a surgery that lasts five minutes worth, at most, of the entire episode. In reality, though the amount of hours vary depending on which type of surgery, they last much longer than five minutes. Additionally, although I am sure romantic relationships do form among the doctors that work together, I do not think it is common to see them kissing in elevators, stair wells or in the on-call rooms, like they do in Grey’s Anatomy.

 On the show, all of the main romantic moments happen in these three places. In reality, I am sure that the doctors actually use the on-call rooms to get some real sleep. The little things like that different in comparison with reality to the show, although besides these little things, all the medicine is real.

I love this show because it taps into two of my main interests, medicine and romantic drama television shows. Shonda Rhimes has created my ideal show. I have learned so much about medicine from this show. I have even been able to use the information I have learned from this show and apply it in the the work place when I shadow doctors. I am studying to be a nurse, so this show is all about my future profession. It inspires me and keeps me on track.

When I re-watch old episodes, I choose which one to watch depending on what kind of day I have had and what is currently going on in my life. This show acts as a form of therapy in a way for me. I relate to the characters and the life situations they go through. Also, I get such an adrenaline rush from seeing the medical aspect of the show and the surgeries so it always boosts my spirits when I am feeling down.

We have seen so many characters come and go throughout the years, but they are all so loveable and it is impossible not to fall in love with each and everyone of them for their unique qualities. There are all different kinds of personalities on this show. For example, Dr. Christina Yang is a harsh, tough, hysterical, competitive and brilliant surgeon. She has no filter and says whatever is on her mind, even if it is mean or rude. Christina does not like to talk about her feelings and does not show much emotion. She has absolutely no bed side manner and will do whatever it takes to be the best. She has chosen cardio as her surgical specialty.

Dr. Izzie Stevens and Dr. George O’Malley, who both sadly are no longer on the show, have personalities polar opposite to Christina. They are overly emotional, so warm and caring with their patients and would do anything for them. Thought they are competitive and tough, they have a heart of gold. George and Izzie are always there for their friends and doing for others. Izzie Stevens is very strong and opinionated while George is awkward and quirky.

Then you have Meredith Grey. She is the main character. They often call her “dark and twisty Meredith” because of her challenging childhood and all the bad things she has had to deal with in her life.

She is always such pessimistic but you love her for this. In the earlier seasons, she is always drinking and sleeping with with others to drown her sorrows. Meredith pretends like she is always fine but deep down she is always dealing with some sort of emotional struggle. Early on, she finds true love with Dr. Derek Shepherd and this was the best thing that ever happened to her character. Today, she is now bright and shiny Meredith and has a new outlook on life.

Regardless of their different personalities, they are all one big happy family. The actors work so well off one another and have this amazing repor that I have only witnessed on two other shows, Friends and Brothers and Sisters. The cast has such a special relationship with one another and they are the reason people fall so madly in love with this show.

I am so grateful and in love with this show and as pathetic as it sounds, these characters have become my friends and family over the years. I will always be a dedicated Grey’s Anatomy fan until the end of time.

Leave a Reply

